To get directions enter your address and right click on the desired marker.
Near Chochlia village there is the active women’s monastery of Bunda, dedicated to Agia Paraskevi. According to tradition, the Saint was martyred here and not in Rome. Her pursuers dragged her to the bank of Acherousian Lake. When the killing sword was lifted over her head, she grabbed a stone pole in front of her with such force that she melted it, leaving indelible marks on it. The faithful built her head into the wall of the church erected at the place of her martyrdom. Agia Paraskevi of Bunda was famous for its thermal spring water and its countless miracles. The tomb of Agia Paraskevi with the relevant inscription can be visited.
It is the most important monastery of all on the island in the lake of Ioannina. It was named after the noble family of the Philantropenoi who settled in Ioannina from Constantinople, after its seize in 1204. The church is built according to the architectural style of the single-aisled church with a barrel-vaulted roof and exonartheces on the northern, western and southern sides. It is not known when the katholikon was originally built, but, according to an inscription, it was restored by Michael Philanthropenos in 1291. The interior is covered with “wonderful” wall paintings of the 16th century, executed in three different phases. The wall paintings, which are the work of anonymous painters, impress with its plethora of representations and are considered "masterpieces" of post-Byzantine painting. The wealth of representations and the quality of the painting make a “unique” total. What is of particular interest is the representation of the ancient Greek philosophers, who are painted on the wall of the southern paranarthex. Only the ruins of the altar and a complex of cells are still preserved today.
The monastery, dedicated to the Nativity of the Theotokos, is built on the top of a hill near the village of Elliniko, at a relatively short distance from the city of Ioannina.
It is an active monastery well known in the area as it is an important pilgrimage with significant social contribution.
According to the tradition, the monastery was founded in 1190 by Emperor Isaac II Angelos; however, the katholikon in its current form was built probably in the late 17th century and the wall paintings inside the church in the mid 18th century.
According to an inscription of 1779, the gilding of the iconostasis was finished, at the expense of Abbot Gabriel, endowing it with an exceptional look.
The monastery is surrounded by a high wall and the two-storey cells have been recently restored.
At the back of the monastery, visitors and pilgrims of the monastery can admire the canyon of Arachthos river, declared landscape of exceptional natural beauty.
The view from there is simply "breathtaking".
Dedicated to the Assumption of the Theotokos, it is located near the village of Kalarrytes, built on a rocky stiff cliff, over Kalarrytikos river.
The name 'Kipina" was given, according to one version, because of the gardens (kipoi in Greek) cultivated by the monks.
Access to the monastery, which is open to visitors, is provided via a small path, carved into the rock and continues with a wooden bridge, which leads to the outbuildings of the monastery.
Tradition has it that the monastery was founded in the late Byzantine period.
The katholikon of the monastery is inside a natural small cave, the rock of which was suitably carved and constitutes its dome. It is a single-aisled basilica of small dimensions with a narthex.
The interior is decorated with wall paintings dating back to the late 17th century - beginning of the 18th century. The wall paintings are distinguished for the interesting iconographic sequence with the beautiful representations and the variety of colors.
The iconostasis is carved and gilded.
The cells with wooden extensions on the vertical rock create an exceptional architectural complex fully harmonized with the wild landscape.
Dedicated to the Annunciation of the Theotokos, the monastery dates back to the 16th century.
It is built near the settlement of Parakalamos at an altitude of approximately 750m, at the top of a green hill rising above the valley of Kalamas, with a stunning view over the surrounding area.
Ruins of an ancient fortification have been found in the same location.
The katholikon of the monastery was built in 1598, a cross-in-square church with side conches and high multi-faceted dome. This is an architectural style that replicates that of the katholikon of the Monastery of Fathers in Lithino of Zitsa and is speculated that both churches are the work of the same group of workers.
The majority of the cells were recently reconstructed and the monastery complex is surrounded by a high surrounding wall.
The wall paintings of the church date back to 1602.
Two representations, at the sanctuary and the narthex, with the fathers of the monastery are of special interest. They are Ioannis Simotas; Ioannis and Emmanuel Kondaratos; and Ioannakis Kyritzis.