To get directions enter your address and right click on the desired marker.
A 15th century church (1480) created by families of the then noble class (Avramis, Androutselis, Voulgaris, Theotokis, Kouartanos, Kapodistrias, Polylas, Dousmanis, Romanos, Chalikiopoulos etc).
The Church is a quadrangular Basilica, surrounded by narthex on the three sides (south, north and west). On the northert narthex there are frescoes of an unknown hagiographer. Its northern and southern walls are covered by frescoes showing the prophetess of the Old Testament and date back to the time (1450 – 1550) of the peak of the frescoes.
During the Venetian rule, the narthex was used as a cemetery for the members of the Fraternity. Today, there are several tombs, among which the tomb of a Russian Captain, of the suite of Admiral Usakov, (1799).
The Church was the office of significant head priests for several years, up to 1717, when took place the last restauration works.
The head priest of this church was for many years the great teacher of the Greek enslaved nation, CorfiotNikiphoros Theotokis , brilliant writer and famous ecclesiastic orator (1736- 1805), who, because of his important personality was invited by the Emperess of Russia Ekaterini II. There, he was made Archbishoppf Slavenion and Chersona and then of Astrachan and Stavropol.
It is the only church which has the pulpit on the southern wall and this happened so that the crowds of people that came to the church to hear the wonderful orator, regardless of religion or creed could all attend his speeched.
Take a look at the templon of Corfiot marble, with theicons by known hagiographers of the Cretan-Corfiot School, like the ceiling by the famous Corfiot painter Spyridon Sperantzas (1773), the icons of Christ and the icons of the templonof the most famous and skilled hagiographers of the so-called Ionian Schoo Chyssoloras and Tzenos, the templon doors by Emmanuel Tzannes and the work of a great unknown popular painter.
On the Hol Table (altar) there is a woderful pyx of the Russian manner.
In the church there is a shrine, where are kept reliques of Agios Ioannis Chrysostomos and Agios Ioannis Damaskinos.
In the small museum of the church are exhibited the vestments and the pectoral cross of Nikiphoros Theotokis , as well as two vestments from Russia and a diaconal , donation of Nikiphoros Theotokis to the church the time that he was in Russia.
This is the church that attended the National Poet of Greece Dionysios Solomos, Ioannis Kapodistrias, Iakovos Polylas while a church warden was the composer of the National Anthem of Greece Nikolaos Mantzaros.
A big picturesque village with houses built from the 17th till the 19th centuries , narrow paths and squares , over the tourist resort of Agios Gordios and next to the beach Gialiskari and the wonderful Aerostato .
It was inhabited, then deserted and re-inhabited at different times from the middle Ages to the 17th century. Walk through its narrow streets and you will feelthe pulses of history.
You should definitely visit the Folk Museum of Messi. This unique museum is housed in a traditional mansion and it has gotexhibits and evidence of all aspects of country life in Corfu in the 18th and 19th centuries.
Don't miss the opportunity to visit Aerostato. At the edge of the village, a road will take you to a region with enchanting view over the tourist resorts and the Ionian Sea.
The village has a panoramic view over the bay of Agios Georgios and it is mentioned as the centre of a Byzantine administrative division in a 1200 AD document. The most common surname in the village is Gialopsos (possibly deriving from the ancient Greek expression "Aigialon opsontes - They will see the sea"). The central church of the village is Agios Nikolaos, constructed in the 14th century (built on a preexisting building). It is a preservable village with typical paths, houses and a mansion of the early 19th century.
A picturesque and famous village, built on top of a hill in midland Corfu.
Wilhelm II, emperor of Germany, who bought the Achilleion palace after the death of Empress Sissy in the early 20th century, would come to this village tocontemplate the view from the top of the hill and enjoy the sunset.
Ever since then, thousands of visitors come here every year , at a place known as Keiser's watch post , to enjoy the very samesunset over the peaceful water of the Ionian sea.
Thanks to the sunset and to the picturesque village and the beautiful nearby beaches (Glyfada, Kondogialos, and Gialiskari), Pelekas was one of the first places in Corfu to have developped tourism.
There is parking space, while at the central street of the village you will find everything: coffee shops, taverns, mini markets, tourist agencies.
This village is built on the northwestern slopes of mount Istoni in a green environment. The buildings, the names of places and the surnames of the locals refer to the 14th - 15th century, while the population seems to have increased considerably in the 17th century with the refugees from Crete after the fall of Chandax in the hands of the Turks. Archaeological findings indicate that the wider region of the Bay of Agios Georgios was inhabited from the Roman era.
The fertile land and the numerous water wells make the village famous for the production of fruit and wine.
Wander around the roads of the village. Take a look at the relics of the Georgantas mansion, the old Venetian administration centre with its imposing gates.
Look the Synadinos mansion with the military emblems. Admire the houses of the village and the well, constructed in the early 20th century.
Visit the churches and admire the work of painters of the 16th to the 20th centuries.
Sit at the local coffee shops and ask for local fruit.